On Access-Based Self-Organized Clustering in Ad hoc Mobile Wireless Networks

TitleOn Access-Based Self-Organized Clustering in Ad hoc Mobile Wireless Networks
Publication TypeConference Paper
Year of Publication2006
AuthorsRashid, M. M., E. Hossain, M. Khabbazian, and V. K. Bhargava
Conference NameCommunication System Software and Middleware, 2006. Comsware 2006. 1st International Conference on
Pagination1 -8
KeywordsABCP, access protocols, access-based clustering protocol, ad hoc networks, broadcast channels, broadcast mechanism, CABC, channel access-based clustering, channel reservation technique, MAPLE clustering, mobile ad hoc wireless network, mobility management (mobile radio), mobility-aware proactive low energy, radio channel, self-organized clustering, wireless channels

Access-based clustering in a mobile ad hoc network generally builds on a broadcast mechanism in the shared radio channel to transmit control messages for cluster formation. Performances of two recently proposed access-based clustering schemes, namely, access-based clustering protocol (ABCP) and channel access-based clustering (CABC) are compared with the performance of a new clustering scheme, namely, mobility-aware pro-active low energy (MAPLE) clustering which overcomes the major limitations of the former two schemes. For pro-active clustering MAPLE exploits the link level information to estimate the mobility pattern of the wireless nodes and the cost of using a wireless link in terms of required transmission power. A channel reservation technique is used to reduce the number of contentions among the nodes while accessing the channel during cluster formation. Simulation results show that the proposed MAPLE clustering offers superior performance in terms of stability, clustering overhead and load distribution


a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Electrical and Computer Engineering
2332 Main Mall
Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z4
Tel +1.604.822.2872
Fax +1.604.822.5949

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright 2021 The University of British Columbia